Nakamatsu Plays Brahms

Wharton Center for Performing Arts

Described as “…meticulous and tuneful…” by the Washington Post, pianist Jon Nakamatsu, Gold Medalist of the Tenth Van Cliburn International Piano Competition, joins the LSO to perform Johannes Brahms’ epic "Piano Concerto No. 2". This program opens with seventeen-year-old Richard Strauss’ remarkably original "Serenade for Winds", featuring the virtuosity and polish of the LSO wind section. Michigan State University alumnus Adolphus Hailstork has risen to prominence as one of America’s most influential composers. We hear the composer’s signature blend of his African American ancestry and European traditions in his lyrical and vivid "Symphony No. 1".


Timothy Muffitt

Jon Nakamatsu


Serenade for Winds, Op. 7, Eb Major

Richard Strauss

Symphony No. 1

Adolphus Hailstork

Piano Concerto No. 2, op. 83, Bb Major

Johannes Brahms