MasterWorks 04: Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 6

Nicholas with cello
Cobb Great Hall, Wharton Center for Performing Arts

Written at the end of his life, Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 6, the Pathetique, is among the most personal statements in the symphonic repertoire. This autobiographical work is a reflection on a life full of personal struggle and connects with the listener on an intimate level. Hailed as a “superb young soloist” by the New York Times, Nicholas Canellakis, will bring Schumann’s Cello Concerto to life. Theofanidis’ Visions and Miracles, opens this concert with its joyous and uplifting spirit.


Timothy Muffitt

Nicholas Canellakis


Visions and Miracles

Christopher Theofanidis

Cello Concerto

Robert Schumann

Symphony No. 6

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky